Bugbrooke Community Primary School

Governing Body

What we do 

As the Governing Body of Bugbrooke Community Primary School, we have 3 main roles:

  1. We take general responsibility for the school. We appoint the Head Teacher and together set the strategic direction of the school. We uphold and promote the vision and the values that underpin all we do. We ensure that every child is safe.  
  2. We agree the school development plan and monitor progress against the targets set, holding the Head Teacher and senior leaders to account and act as a 'critical friend’. 
  3. We set the school budget each year, approve spending and monitor progress against the budget. 

Governors are involved in every aspect of school life and usually take on specific roles according to their experience and interests. We play a strategic role, concentrating on the underlying principles of how the school is run. Day-to-day management issues remain the responsibility of the Head Teacher and her staff.

We meet as the full governing body once every half term. We have three committees; Finance & Personnel, Learning & Achievement and Premises, Health and Safety, which also meet during the year to deal with matters of specific interest. These Committees report back to the full governing body.

In between the meetings Governors undertake work according to their responsibilities and any other work they have agreed to do. They visit school to meet with key staff and see how the children are doing. They also attend regular training on a wide range of subjects, from safeguarding to data analysis to help them carry out their roles to the highest standards.


We are required to have a designated number of governors from a number of categories. We can also adopt additional governors, known as associate governors, who can advise but not vote. These governors usually have a particular area of expertise.

Our current body consists of 13 members:

The Head Teacher

1 Local Authority Governor

1 Staff Governor

2 Parent Governors

8 Co-opted governors

The standard term of office for a Governor is four years.

The Chair of the Governing Body is Mrs Emma Stone. 
Mrs Sarah Billing-Cararro is the Vice Chair of the Governing Body.


You can contact the Governing body by addressing your correspondence to the Chair of the Governing Body, Bugbrooke Community Primary School, High Street, Bugbrooke, Northampton, NN7 3PA. Alternatively you can contact them by email on governingbody@bugbrookeprimaryschool.co.uk

Please click here for members and roles of our governors 2020-2021.

Please click here for the Register of Interests 2021-2022.

Please click here for the meeting attendance 2020-2021

Please click here for our Governor's Code of Conduct.